Along with The Impressionists I got to see last Saturday, I also had the pleasure of experiencing the Kara Walker show My Complement, My Enemy, My Oppressor, My Love at the Fort Worth Modern across the street from the Kimbell.

Kara Walker’s show is definitely not for the faint of heart. Between the depraved sexual acts and the number of dismembered limbs it’s like walking through an Antebellum themed prono set and meat packing facility wrapped up in one. I have to give this show a hand for sending my conservative Christian sister packing after just two rooms. Full of sexual imagery and racial tension My Complement, My Enemy, My Oppressor, My Love is a delight that you need to go see before it leaves on October 19th.

Titus O’Brien had an enlightening perspective on the exhibit in a review he did for Glasstire in which he states,

Race is obviously still a (the?) pivotal issue in our national psyche, and the intractable wounds of slavery are even now too often blithely glossed over or ignored.

and I have to agree with him.

Walker’s use of black paper silhouettes to create everything from large scale panoramas to videos is impressive to say the least, but the real strength of the exhibit comes from how Walker addresses racism as a two way street. Walker doesn’t pile all the blame on whites, but instead tells a narrative that blends facts, fiction and just a touch of fantasy to create something truely disturbing that brings into question what the truth actually is.

If nothing else the craftsmanship alone is worth the admission (although if you act fast you can get in half price), so use the falling gas prices as an excuse to take a drive over to The Fort Worth Modern and check it out.

